HPR Board of Directors

The Hawaiʻi Public Radio Board of Directors is the entity which is legally responsible for the governance of HPR as a nonprofit corporation. It also holds the FCC broadcast licenses for the radio stations operating as HPR. The operation and organization of the Board is outlined in the Hawaiʻi Public Radio Bylaws.

The Board members are selected for their commitment to the mission and goals of HPR, and for their expertise in various fields. The individual Directors serve as volunteers and meet approximately six times per year at the HPR studio complex at 738 Kāheka Street in Honolulu. Additionally, Board Committees meet regularly throughout the year. All Board and Board Committee meetings are open to the public. The calendar for full HPR Board meetings can be found below. 

Board members 2016-2017:

Dr. Tyrie Jenkins, chair
Kenneth Robbins, vice chair
Barbara A. Hastings, secretary
Howard M. Higa, treasurer

Buffy Cushman-Patz
Rosemary T. Fazio
José A. Fajardo, HPR president
Frank Haas
Marcie Uehara Herring
Paul R. Mancini
Jan R. Medusky
Deane Neubauer
Barry Rivers
Anne Swayne
Dawn Suyenaga
Dr. Bill Wiecking
Alan T. Yamamoto
Carl J. Yee
Carol Yotsuda

Valerie Yee, HPR vice president
Bernadette Shimono, HPR vice president, finance / asst. treasurer

Board Meetings*

July 25, 2016 Annual Meeting
September 26, 2016 General Board Meeting
November 28, 2016 General Board Meeting
January 23, 2017 General Board Meeting
March 20, 2017 General Board Meeting
May 22, 2017 General Board Meeting

Board Committee Meetings*

Governance Committee (7:30 – 8:30 a.m. on the following dates)
November 16, 2016
March 8, 2017
June 7, 2017

Finance Committee (10 - 11 a.m. on the following dates, except where noted)
October 26, 2016
November 14, 2016 (1 - 2 p.m.)
April 18, 2017
June 29, 2017
July 18, 2017

Development Committee (noon – 1 p.m. on the following dates)
January 18, 2017
March 9, 2017
May 11, 2017

Broadcast Committee (5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. on the following dates)
November 15, 2016
January 17, 2017
April 11, 2017

Community Advisory Board
February 8, 2017 (6 - 7 p.m.)
April 11, 2017 (5:30 - 6:30 p.m.)

* Meeting dates and times subject to change.