The Hawai’i Shakespeare Festival's Milestone Summer

Jul 22, 2013

 Audio FileDiscussion with Harry Wong and R. Kevin Garcia Doyle about the Shakespeare Festival's project to stage all 38 of the Bard's plays in Honolulu.Edit | Remove

Twelve years ago, three youthful theatre directors set a goal of producing every one of Shakespeare’s plays here in Hawai’i.  Challenging language, complicated plots and themes, and demanding roles were tackled year after year, as Honolulu’s theatre scene grew into the project.   This summer,  the Hawai’i Shakespeare Festival will attain its original goal.  HPR’s Noe Tanigawa reports.

Shakespeare’s Troilus and Cressida continues at Marks’ Garage Wednesday through Sunday this week, and the Festival plays on  through August.  Tickets are ten dollars in advance on Wednesday nights. 

http://www.hawaiishakes.org/

> Troilus and Cressida

> Wednesday, July 23, 7:30pm, $10

> Thursday, July 25, 7:30pm, $15

> Friday, July 26, 7:30pm, $20

> Saturday, July 27, 7:30pm, $20            FREE Companion lecture at 6:30pm

> Sunday, July 28, 3:30pm, $20

>

> Timon of Athens

> Friday, August 9, 7:30pm, $15

> Saturday, August 10, 7:30pm, $15

> Sunday, August 11, 3:30pm, $15

> Wednesday, August 14, 7:30pm, $10

> Thursday, August 15, 7:30pm, $15

> Friday, August 16, 7:30pm, $20

> Saturday, August 17, 7:30pm, $20            FREE Companion lecture at 6:30pm

> Sunday, August 18, 3:30pm, $20

>

> As You Like It

> Friday, August 23, 7:30pm, $15

> Saturday, August 24, 7:30pm, $15

> Sunday, August 25, 3:30pm, $15

> Wednesday, August 28, 7:30pm, $10

> Thursday, August 29, 7:30pm, $15

> Friday, August 30, 7:30pm, $20

> Saturday, August 31, 7:30pm, $20            FREE Companion lecture at 6:30pm

> Sunday, September 1, 3:30pm, $20

>

> Ticket prices

> $15 All shows opening weekend ($20 at the door)

> $10 Wednesday ($15 at the door)

> $15 Thursday ($20 at the door)

> $20 Friday/Saturday/Sunday  ($25 at the door) no other discounts

>

> Tickets on sale

> Brown Paper Tickets

> 1-800-838-3006

> HawaiiShakes.org